I like My Chemical Romance. Oooh, it’s shameful, but  I do. I have a very bad love of third-generation emo music, although NOT Fall Out Boy, definitely not Fall Out Boy. I don’t LOVE My Chem’s music but I do have a lot of time for the members themselves. They have a documentary call Life On The Murder Scene and it’s full of funny and touching moments where they love on each other and explain the origins of the band, etc etc. 

(For instance, when talking about their [second] drummer Bob Bryar, Frank Iero says “If there is a God, I thank him every day for bringing us Bob Bryar”.)

The whole band is very into gay rights and stuff like that, and Gerard at least would describe himself as a feminist, I think. His wife Lyn-Z is the bassist in Mindless Self Indulgence, who I really like. MSI have TWO women! They both kick ass. I’m a fan of women in music.

I would have said that Frank Iero counted himself as a feminist too, but then he’s posted this on his Twitter and I’m now just getting vibes of over-privileged straight white guy who’s old enough and educated enough to know better but who probably thinks he’s made a hilarious joke. 

To the two screaming prick faced toddlers who ruined my viewing of transformers last night, your mother should have sat on a coat hanger. Xo

Oh, abortion jokes are so funny! Especially ones referencing coathangers! I can’t see any problems at ALL with that, can you?

Sadly for Frank, I am a humourless feminist. 

Go love on your drummer a bit more, Frank, you’ve got some making up to do

(And yes, I have Tweeted back at him telling him he’s old enough to know better. I’ll let you know if he responds. You might think he’s too famous for that, but My Chem all reply to people fairly often. We’ll see)

